Call for Column Editors

 

The English Journal incoming coeditors, Toby Emert and R. Joseph Rodríguez, invite NCTE members to apply to serve as column editors for the journal.

Columnists will serve a one-year term and contribute six columns to a volume of the journal (published in September, November, January, March, May, and July). The term would also include a commitment to assist with the transition between columnists.

Details about current columns and columnists/column editors can be found here. We welcome applications that creatively reimagine the content for current columns or that propose a new column that addresses the interests and concerns of NCTE members.

We are especially seeking content for the journal that amplifies the voices of teachers and students and strengthens our community’s dialogue on globally and socially responsible literacies.

Applicants are invited to share proposals of no more than 500 words outlining their vision for the column, along with a two-page resume or curriculum vitae.

Proposals should be addressed to coeditors Toby Emert and R. Joseph Rodríguez and submitted via email to temert@agnesscott.eduThe deadline to receive proposals for Volume 108 (published September 2018–July 2019) is December 1, 2017. 

Editorial Staff

 

Editor
Julie Gorlewski
Virginia Commonwealth University

Associate Editor
David Gorlewski
Virginia Commonwealth University

Senior Editorial Associate
Theresa Kay, Fairbanks, Alaska

Editorial Associate
Nick Shipman
Virginia Commonwealth University

Production Editor
Rona Smith
NCTE, Urbana, IL

Publications Director
Kurt Austin
NCTE, Urbana, IL
booksteam@ncte.org

Contact Us
Englishjournal@ncte.org

Permissions
permissions@ncte.org

Column Editors

 

Carpe Librum: Seize the (YA) Book
Pauline Skowron Schmidt, West Chester University, Pennsylvania
pschmidt@wcupa.edu

Continuous Becoming: Moving toward Mastery
Victoria P. Hankey
Victoria.Hankey@bvsd.org

Disabling Assumptions
Patricia A. Dunn, Stony Brook University, New York
Patricia.Dunn@stonybrook.edu

Envisioning Assessment
Jed Hopkins, Edgewood College, Madison, WI
jhopkins@edgewood.edu

Lingua Anglia: Bridging Language and Learners
Pamela J. Hickey, Towson University, Maryland
phickey@towson.edu

Poetry
Lauren Gatti, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
submissions: ejpoetry2016@gmail.com
correspondence: lgatti2@unl.edu

Soft(a)ware: Instructional Technologies in the English Classroom
Tom Liam Lynch
tom@tomliamlynch.org

Speaking Truth to Power
P. L. Thomas, Furman University, Greenville, SC paul.thomas@furman.edu
Christian Z. Goering, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville cgoering@uark.edu

Under Discussion: Teaching Speaking and Listening
Lisa M. Barker, Towson University
lbarker@towson.edu