Award Details

Nominations are not accepted for this award.

The award recognizes outstanding English Journal articles written by classroom teachers.

The award shall be given annually to the authors of two articles written by teachers and published in English Journal. At least 50% of the named contributing authors must be practicing high school teachers at the time of submission and may include those on leave. Book reviewers will not be eligible for consideration, but articles written for specific English Journal columns may be considered. Teachers currently on leave may be considered, as may former teachers presently not employed.

Award Criteria:
The editor of English Journal shall draw up the annual list of eligible authors and shall be the arbiter of eligibility. The award shall be given once each year, covering issues published between September and July of the previous volume year. Up to two honorable mentions (runners-up) may be also named.

Award Specifics:
The award is announced by the award committee chair and presented by the journal editor at the Secondary Section Luncheon during the NCTE Annual Convention. The winner receives a plaque, $100 honorarium, complimentary registration for the NCTE Annual Convention, and a ticket to the Secondary Section Luncheon. Honorable mentions receive a certificate.

The award is named after Paul and Kate Farmer, founders and donors.

The Farmer Award Committee determines the winner based upon articles meeting the criteria by August 15. The award committee consists of a chair nominated by the editor of English Journal and three to five readers nominated by the members of the Secondary Section Steering Committee. Each reader scores each article using the provided rubric.

NCTE Paul and Kate Farmer English Journal Writing Award Winners



Jennifer Ansbach, New Jersey, “Using Memorials to Build Critical Thinking Skills and Empathy,” March 2016

Kiran Subhani, New Trier High School, Winnetka, Illinois, “Photos as Witness: Teaching Visual Literacy for Research and Social Action,” November 2015



Chris Gilbert, Henderson, North Carolina, “A Call for Subterfuge: Shielding the ELA Classroom from the Restrictive Sway of the Common Core.” November 2014

Jennifer Rossuck, Albertville, Alabama, “My Year of Sports.” September 2014

Honorable Mentions:

Michael Hoffman, Ann Arbor, Michigan, “Peer Response, Remixed: Authentic Peer Response through Audio Technology.” March 2015

Alyssa Niccolini, Brooklyn, New York, “Precocious Knowledge: Using Banned Books to Engage in a Youth Lens.” January 2015



Donna Canan, Kirkwood High School, Missouri, “I Hear America Sing: Promoting Democracy through Literature.” November 2013

David Peter Noskin, New Trier High School, Winnetka, Illinois, for “Toward a Clearer Picture of Assessment: One Teacher’s Formative Approach.” September 2013

Honorable Mentions:

Michael Pagliaro, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, “Is a Picture Worth a Thousand Words? Determining the Criteria for Graphic Novels with Literary Merit.” March 2014

Jennifer Isgitt and Quentin Donnellan, Fossil ridge High School, Keller, Texas, “Discussion-Based Problem Solving: An English-Calculus Collaboration Emphasizes Cross-Curricular Thinking Skills.” January 2014


Past Award Winners