Award Details

Nomination Deadline:  May 1

The NCTE Secondary Section wishes to recognize and celebrate high school classroom teachers.

All state, provincial, regional, and local affiliates are eligible to submit a Nomination Form along with supporting materials.

Award Criteria:
Each affiliate will annually determine one person in that affiliate to receive the award from the Secondary Section. Each affiliate is at liberty to select a person for this honor in the manner of its choice.

Award Specifics:
Each recipient will be recognized with a certificate at the Secondary Section Luncheon during the NCTE Annual Convention. Each recipient will be responsible for purchasing his or her own luncheon ticket and tickets for any guests. Reserved seating will be offered along with a booklet highlighting comments from the letters of recommendation.

The affiliate contact person is responsible for submitting the Nomination Form along with the honoree’s resume and signed letters of support from at least TWO different constituencies—principal, supervisor, chairperson, peer, parent, or student—about contributions in the classroom and excellent practices exhibited by the recipient.

The Nomination Form and supporting materials must be submitted by May 1 to or by postal mail to NCTE High School Teacher of Excellence Award, 1111 W. Kenyon Road, Urbana, IL 61801-1096.

Note: If you are a colleague who wishes to nominate a teacher for this award, please submit nomination materials to your local NCTE affiliate for first-round consideration.

NCTE will send an email confirming that the nomination has been received. Nominating affiliates are asked to contact NCTE if they have not received a confirmation email.

Each affiliate will annually determine one person in that affiliate to receive the award from the Secondary Section. Each affiliate is at liberty to select a person for this honor in the manner of its choice. An affiliate’s governing board might acknowledge someone who has previously won an award within the affiliate, thus moving that person’s recognition to a national level, or the affiliate might advertise for applications for nominations before choosing a winner.

NCTE High School Teacher of Excellence Award Winners

Tracy Lynn Weaver, Mountain View High School, Mesa, AZ
Theron Hopkins, Inspire School of Arts and Sciences, Chico, CA
Shirley A. Rutter, Weeki Wachee High School, Weeki Wachee, FL
Amber M. Simmons, Brookwood High School, Snellville, GA
Genevieve Sherman, Zion-Benton Township High School, Zion, IL
Jodie K. Scales, Wapahani High School, Selma, IN
Geryl Lobert, Chippewa Hills High School, Remus, MI
Caitlin Chiller, Whitehall School District, Whitehall, MT
Deborah Ward, Burke High School, Omaha, NE
Lou Ventura, Olean High School, Olean, NY
Lena Moore, Sheridan High School, Thornville, OH
Jonathan P. DeBor, The Neighborhood Academy, Pittsburgh, PA
Samantha M. Peil, Deubrook Area School District, White, SD
Rhonda Shelton, Lewisville High School, Lewisville, TX
Victoria Ingroff Garren, Thomas Jefferson High School, Richmond, VA

Patty Brundage-Rude, North High School, Bakersfield, CA
Kate Flowers, Santa Clara High School, Santa Clara, CA
Julie Henderson Rucker, Tift County High School, Tifton, GA
David Theune, Spring Lake High School, Spring Lake, MI
Jeffrey Ross, Belt High School, Belt, MT
Jenni Erhart, Osceola High School, Osceola, NE
Karalee Pugmire, Mojave High School, North Las Vegas, NV
Michelle G. Bulla, Monroe-Woodbury High School, Central Valley, NY
Joshua M. Younge, Pickaway-Ross Career and Technology Center, Chillicothe, OH
Jennifer Novotney, MMI Preparatory School, Freeland, PA
Leigh Unterspan, Travelers Rest High School, Travelers Rest, SC
Kirsten Rohla, Belle Fourche High School, Fourche, SD
Dee Grimm, Turner Ashby High School, Bridgewater, VA

Carissa Morrison, Seligman High School, Seligman, AZ
Gillian Schneider, Neuqua Valley High School, Naperville, IL
Brent Peters, Fern Creek Traditional High School, Louisville, KY
Sandy Safford, Cheboygan High School, Cheboygan, MI
Pat Brauer, Seward High School, Seward, NE
Janet Matthews, Westlake High School, Thornwood, NY
Samantha J. Shaffner, Franklinton Preparatory Academy High School, Columbus, OH
Cynthia Minnich, Upper Dauphin Area School District, Elizabethville, PA
Jason G. Kurtz, Harrisburg High School, Harrisburg, SD
Donna Friend, Hebron High School, Carrollton, TX
Karrie Rinder, Dominion High School, Sterling, VA

Joann E. Martin, North High School, Phoenix, AZ
Anne Sahlberg, McKinleyville High School, McKinleyville, CA
Sarah Zerwin, Fairview High School, Boulder, CO
Theresa Vara-Dannen, University High School of Science and Engineering, Hartford, CT
Cathy Taylor Bell, George Jenkins High School, Lakeland, FL
Emily A. Mowery, Armuchee High School, Rome, GA
Michelle Ryan, Lincoln Community High School, Lincoln, IL
Steven Maack, Wichita High School East, Wichita, KS
Terry Hiemer, Crete High School, Crete, NE
Sarah Mulhein Gross, High Technology High School, Lincoft, NJ
Julie Roos, Canyon Springs HS & Leadership & Law Preparatory Academy, North Las Vegas, NV
Julene Waffle, Morris Central School, Morris, NY
Kate Hoffman, State College High School, State College, PA
Christopher L. Dowlen, Martin Luther King Magnet, Nashville, TN
Paul Jenkins, Prince Edwards County High School, Farmville, VA
Blair L. Perzentka, Marshall High School, Marshall, WI




Past Award Winners